Heather T.

In the dark.

In My Family, My Photos on March 30, 2009 at 12:39 pm

Last Thursday night, the boys and I were eating some dinner and watching a movie, when the lights went out. That was daddy’s “go ahead” for nap time. While he was napping, we were enjoying some in the dark kind of fun. The boys jumped right on looking for the flash-lights and we commenced to playing….

Me? I grabbed my camera, of course, thinking this would be a great opportunity to learn and play with it a little. Sammy and Josh grabbed a few books and actually sat down together on the couch, being silly and laughing with one another. It really was a happy moment for mom :o), just look at them….

The lights were out for almost an hour; we don’t know why but I realized how much we needed that time…just to be in the calm without noise. It was good! I’ll be honest with you, I sometimes feel like I can just hear all of the buzzing of the electricity, inside. Do any of you experience that? It’s only when the electricity goes completely out in our house, where I can truly enjoy the sense of calm and quiet of nature. I experience the calm and quiet outside of home, sometimes but not nearly enough.

It certainly was a fun hour, enjoyable and good for us :o)

  1. Heather,No doubt about it…when the electricity goes off…the family comes together and it is a special time. We experienced that this winter during the ice storm…off for several days. The photos are great and it looks like it was a great time for you guys.Dan

  2. Yes. Absolutely. We live in a world where so much depends on electricity that we completely lose sight of the basics of our existence. When I came to live in New Zealand for the first time I had few of the possessions that I take for granted back in Scotland. For 'electricity' in your posting substitute 'possessions'. With fewer possessions I discovered that there are so many other things to do with the time I spent using possessions.Love your photos.You really a special Mom aren't you?

Leave a comment